Vergne leads DS Techeetah’s late Formula E FP2 sweep


Da Costa had just knocked Jake Dennis off the top of the FP2 times, the 2019-20 champion clocking a 1m07.993s to go the fastest at the checkered flag, but Vergne put his car ahead again later in the session to hammer in a clear Techeetah advantage.

As the mercury reached 32 degrees Celsius in time for FP2, the drivers had to intersperse their laps with interim cooling rounds to ensure the tires weren’t punished too much by the rising track temperatures.

This helped to ensure that traffic proved to be a difficult factor to manage throughout the session, with a number of promising laps failing to produce consistent performance across all three sectors.

Lucas di Grassi was first in the 1m08s, clocking a 1m08.750 to set an early marker – where he was followed in the same bracket by Nissan e.dams duo Sebastien Buemi and Maximilian Guenther.

The Brazilian driver was then dispatched from first place by points leader Stoffel Vandoorne, who found a tenth and a half on the ace Venturi.

Sergio Sette Camara looked good to launch Vandoorne from the top, but a less successful final sector managed to put the Dragon Penske rider in third, behind his compatriot di Grassi.

Pascal Wehrlein then powered his Porsche towards the first time, clocking a time of 1m08.410s to beat di Grassi’s fastest lap of FP1 despite losing some time in the final sector.

But then it was the NIO 333 pair’s turn to bask in the sun as Oliver Turvey shaded Wehrlein’s time by 0.031s, but was immediately replaced by Dan Ticktum who burned at 1m08.338s.

As the session drew to a close in its final 10 minutes, Jake Dennis topped the timing charts with a 1m08.253s, but the Andretti Avalanche had to fend off an onslaught from Edoardo Mortara and Mitch Evans.

Neither driver beat his time, and Dennis even had a chance to beat his own top of the standings – but ultimately trailed it by less than half a tenth.

But just as it looked good for Dennis, the DS Techeetahs double catapulted to the top of the times to drop the Briton to third place.

Antonio Felix da Costa, DS Techeetah, DS E-Tense FE21, Lucas di Grassi, Venturi Racing, Silver Arrow 02

Photo by: Sam Bagnall / Motorsport pictures

Evans and Mortara closed FP2 in fourth and fifth places, ahead of Ticktum and Turvey, while Wehrlein was eighth – a tenth arguably Antonio Giovinazzi’s fastest lap in Formula E so far.

Turvey and Ticktum set the representative opening laps for FP1, with the latter clocking a 1m13.561s from the start as the new track surface was slowly dusted off.

Times soon fell into the 1m10s, with Buemi leaping past Jake Dennis to grab a 1m10.283s – the Swiss rider having been the first rider to hit the track in Friday’s shakedown.

Evans then took the session to 1m09, only to be quickly dropped one place by Dennis, before di Grassi threw his first real effort into the mix and was fastest with a 1m09.766.

Evans (Jaguar) regained first place with a time of 1m09.246s, while Pascal Wehrlein and Sam Bird were in the top three before the halfway point.

Wehrlein is handed a five-place grid penalty for Jakarta due to breaking the FIA ​​seals on one of its two DCDC units.

Jean-Eric Vergne then hit in the first 250kW lap of the session to go fastest, posting a 1m08.703s, which went unchallenged for much of the session despite challenges from Dennis and Andre Lotterer at full strength – as Oliver Rowland fell on Antonio Giovinazzi’s traffic, which meant he couldn’t outshine Vergne either.

Di Grassi however returned to the top of the timing chart with a 1m08.538s – with Dennis finding a lap just 0.018s away.

But at the checkered flag, Rowland overtook di Grassi with a 1m08.433s at the FP1 lead, with former team-mate Buemi shooting up to second place at the death with a lap just 0.09s over the Mahindra driver .

Results Formula E Jakarta E-Prix FP2

Results Formula E Jakarta E-Prix FP1


About Author

Comments are closed.