F1 drivers with the 10 longest distances between Grand Prix victories



Dan Istit̬ne РFormula 1Getty Images

When Daniel Ricciardo triumphed at the Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix at Monza on September 12, 2021, it ended a shortage of personal wins of 66 races, one of the longest among the 111 drivers in history with several victories.

The win was McLaren’s first in 3,213 days, but that’s a list for another day. And, yes, a few of the drivers on this list deserve asterisks after stepping away from Formula 1 to come back and add to their list of career wins.

Here is the list of drivers who have waited the greatest number of Grands Prix between two trips to the top step of the victory podium:


Clay Regazzoni (54 races)

Regazzoni won with Ferrari at Long Beach in early 1976 but his relationship with the outfit deteriorated and by the end of the year he left. Two seasons followed in uncompetitive machines, with Ensign and Shadow, before joining Williams ‘thriving team for 1979. Regazzoni won Williams’ home race at Silverstone that year, giving the team their first. Victoire. It was also the last of the Swiss driver’s five career F1 wins.


Bruce McLaren (60 races)

McLaren won the 1962 Monaco Grand Prix with Cooper, but then had to wait six years for their next Grand Prix triumph in Formula 1. He came close on occasion, finishing four times second, but the wait prolonged. for the next victory finally ended. in Belgium in 1968, and with its own eponymous team. It was McLaren’s first championship win, and 182 more and more have since followed.


Kimi Räikkönen (60 races)

The first of Räikkönen’s two appearances on this list, although this one is given an asterisk. Räikkönen claimed Ferrari’s only victory in Belgium in an uncompetitive 2009 for the team and left at the end of the season. He spent two years in the rally world before returning in 2012 with Lotus, winning in Abu Dhabi, after radioing the team to leave him alone. A total of 60 Formula 1 races were held during this time, but to Räikkönen’s credit he only competed in 22 of them.


Daniel Ricciardo (66 races)

Ricciardo dominated Formula 1’s visit to Monaco in 2018 with Red Bull, but failed to add to his winning tally before leaving the team at the end of the year. Two seasons followed under the colors of Renault, but the team remained anchored in the midfield, limiting Ricciardo to just two podiums. Ricciardo joined McLaren for 2021 but endured a modest first half until an outstanding display at Monza put an end to his and the team’s long drought.


Johnny Herbert (67 races)

Herbert was Michael Schumacher’s teammate in Benetton’s winning campaign in 1995 and won twice, but was substituted for 1996, instead finding refuge with the Sauber midfielder. After three years, Herbert switched to Sir Jackie Stewart’s squad and took a surprise victory starting from 14th place on the grid in a rainy race at the Nürburgring. It was one of only three points for Herbert during the entire 1999 season.


John Watson (75 races)

Watson won the first and only victory for Roger Penske’s Formula 1 team in Austria in 1976 and after two years with Brabham he joined a McLaren team that was in the doldrums. After a few grueling seasons, Watson triumphed on the team’s field at Silverstone in 1981 with the MP4 / 1, the first victory for a carbon fiber monohull.


Mario Andretti (81 races)

Andretti won his first championship victory at Kyalami in 1971 with Ferrari, but it would be more than five years before his next victory. However, during this time, Andretti raced in several series, prioritizing USAC, and missed several Grands Prix. After joining Lotus in 1976 and re-entering Formula 1, Andretti clinched a victory in the Fuji round, which ended the season.


Rubens Barrichello (84 races)

Barrichello has partnered with Michael Schumacher throughout Ferrari’s dominant years and fulfilled his number two role well. His final victory with Ferrari came on Formula 1’s first visit to China in 2004, and a stint at Honda yielded little results. Honda’s collapse after 2008 nearly ended Barrichello’s career, but he was held up after Ross Brawn saved the deal. Brawn went on to shock the paddock, winning both titles, Barrichello returning to the top step at Valencia and Monza in 2009, as a teammate of future champion Jenson Button.


Riccardo Patrese (98 races)

Patrese won the 1983 final at Kyalami, but then endured tough seasons with Alfa Romeo and Brabham derailed by chronic unreliability. A stint at Williams in 1988 coincided with a miserable year for the team, but his stint in Renault power for 1989 rejuvenated his outlook and Patrese returned to the podium. Finally, at Imola in 1990, Patrese added a second career victory to his record. In terms of length, at six years, six months and 28 days, that’s the longest gap on the schedule between wins.


Kimi Räikkönen (114 races)

Räikkönen is back on the list. He won the 2013 opener in Melbourne for Lotus and returned to Ferrari in 2014, just as the team was declining. Räikkönen has effectively been chosen as Sebastian Vettel’s opening star for four seasons and the victory has gone elusive on several occasions. During that 114-race span, Räikkönen won 30 podiums, showing his speed, but the last stage remained elusive. Finally, Räikkönen converted to the United States Grand Prix in Austin in 2018 to secure another victory, which turned out to be his last F1 victory, before his impending retirement.

This content is created and maintained by a third party, and uploaded to this page to help users provide their email addresses. You may be able to find more information about this and other similar content on piano.io



About Author

Comments are closed.