Cheers for April 6


Strong, smart and bold

Kudos to Tonja Couch of Seymour, who was recently recognized by Girls Inc. of Jackson County as its 2022 Girls Inc. Champion. The award is given to a woman for her contribution and support to Girls Inc. and the community. Couch, who began attending the club when she was in third grade, served as executive director of Jackson County United Way for nine years. Past winners are Dolores Olivarez, Joanna Myers, Amanda Dick, Marvina Lewis, Rexanne Ude, Deb Bedwell, Mary Anne Jordan, RaeAnn Mellencamp, Debbie Laitinen and Terrye Davidson.

clean up the county

Kudos to Norman’s Delaney Davidson, who created the Clean Our County Project to clean up trash and litter along Jackson County streets, roads, and others in coordination with Earth Day on April 22. The goal is to fill a large dumpster placed behind The Brooklyn Pizza Co. and The Seymour Brewing Co. have been blessed with the project, and many other community members have been inspired to clean up “their corner” by the actions of Davidson, her boyfriend, Hamilton Baker, and other family members and friends. The pizzeria and brewery as well as Home Depot, which donated the bags for garbage and debris collection, also deserve a boost.

Exercise your right

Kudos to everyone who took the time over the past few weeks or Tuesday to go to a polling station to vote in the primary election despite the lack of local contests on the ballot. Voting is a right of every citizen of this nation and should be exercised often. A related boost to all the candidates who threw their hats into the ring for township, county, state and federal races on Tuesday.

Super Academics

Congratulations to members of both Jackson County high school teams who qualified for the Indiana Academic Super Bowl state competition scheduled for Saturday at Purdue University in West Lafayette. Teams exiting the region’s competition on April 21 at Austin High School are Crothersville High School’s England team of Kaylyn Holman, Destiny Lawrence, Elayna Ord, Kiarra Lakins and Cole Reed and Trinity Lutheran High School’s science team by Simeon Bauman, Bradley Dyer, Benjamin Neawedde and Hannah Kerkhof.


About Author

Comments are closed.